Help Me Move My Pet


Attention:  This information is to be used as general guidelines and may not be updated to meet the current requirements.  Before you travel, be sure to contact the appropriate authorities for your destination country.


1) Microchip:  Each Pet shall be identified by means of a microchip.  No other form of identification is acceptable. The microchip used should comply with ISO Standard 11784 or Annex A to ISO standard 11785- otherwise the pet will need to be sent with it’s own scanner attached to the top of the crate.

2) Rabies Vaccination & Certificate: All pets must have an original Rabies Certificate and this certificate must state the microchip number, the date of inoculation and the validity of the particular vaccination you obtain – some are good for two years, others are only good for one.  This vaccine must be an inactivated vaccine.

3) Vet Health Certificate (Form 7001)– This is the standard Health Certificate to be filled out by your USDA accredited Veterinarian.   Must be issued within 10 days of the flight.

4) USDA Endorsement:  The above referenced forms:

  • Microchip Implantation Record
  • Rabies Certificate
  • Vet Health Certificate

Must be sent to your local USDA for their stamp of approval.  Please contact your local representative on the best way of handling this.


HCMC Veterinarian Centre

124 Pham The Hien St., Ward 2, Dist. 8

Ho Chi Minh City

Nguyen Van Toan Veterinarians Office

101 Nguyen Van Lac St., Ward 19, Binh Thanh Dist

Ho Chi Minh City

Vien Thanh Co. Ltd

Floor 4, Kim Do Business Centre, 123 Le Loi St., Ben Thanh Ward, District 1


Vietnam is located along the East Coast of Indochina and borders on Cambodia and Laos in the west and the People’s Republic of China in the north. It stretches over 1,600 km along the eastern cost of the Indochinese Peninsula.

Vietnam is the 2nd largest country in South East Asia after Indonesia. It is divided into 3 regions :-

  • northern Vietnam consisting of provinces bording China and those that lie in the Red River Delta;
  • central Vietnam with provinces lying between the central coast and the 1,600 km-long Truong Son mountain range; and
  • southern Vietnam which includes Ho Chi Minh City, the few provinces east of the city, and the rice-rich provinces of the Mekong River Delta.

Shaped like an elongated S, Vietnam stretches the length of the Indochinese Peninsula and covers a surface area of 128,000 square miles - making it roughly the size of Italy or, in the U.S., New Mexico. China lies to the north, Laos and Cambodia to the west, and the South China Sea to the east.

Topographically, Vietnam is a verdant tapestry of soaring mountains, fertile deltas, primeval forests inhabited by exotic fauna, sinuous rivers, mysterious caves, otherworldly rock formations, and heavenly waterfalls and beaches.

The country may be thought of as comprising three unique areas: north, central, and south. The north is known for its alpine peaks, the Red River Delta, the plains of Cao Bang and Vinh Yen, enchanting Halong Bay, and historic Hanoi as well as for the diversity of its minorities.

Central Vietnam, also home to many ethnic minorities, is characterized by high temperate plateaux rich in volcanic soil, and by spectacular beaches, dunes, and lagoons. It is also the location of the ancient imperial city of Hué and the gorgeous old port town of Hoi An.

In the south, visitors encounter modern life in Ho Chi Minh City (formerly Saigon) and the fertile alluvial delta of the Mekong River. Vietnam's territory also encompasses a large continental shelf and thousands of archipelagic islands.

The south of Vietnam mainly consists of plains. 2 major rivers, the Mekong River in the south and the Red River (Hong) in the north each form deltas of considerable size before entering the South China Sea. The Red River also runs through Hanoi, the capital city.

Although the country is located in the tropics, the climate is tropical only in central and southern Vietnam, with warm and humid weather all year round (22-35oC). In the north, there is a distinct winter season due to cold inland winds. Usually, the winter is also the dry season for the entire country, but the rains are highly unpredictable owing to the influence of several monsoons.

Capital   Hanoi

Languages   Vietnamese, Austro-Asiatic languages, Daic languages, Tibeto-Burman languages

Currency   dong


Vietnam's climate is as complex as its topography. Although the country lies entirely within the tropics, its diverse range of latitude, altitude, and weather patterns produces enormous climatic variation. Covering two different climatic zones, Vietnam has a moderate northern zone, with winter from November to April, and summer from May to October, and a tropical southern zone, with the climate much like the rest of Southeast Asia. The south's cool, dry season is from November to January, the hot dry season from February to April or May, and the rainy season from May or June to October. Vietnam is occasionally affected by typhoons during the rainy season.  

North Vietnam, like China, has two basic seasons: a cold, humid winter from November to April, and a warm, wet summer for the remainder of the year. Summer temperatures average around 22 C (about 70 degrees F), with occasional typhoons to keep things exciting. The northern provinces of Central Vietnam share the climate of the North, while the southern provinces share the tropical weather of the South. South Vietnam is generally warm, the hottest months being March to May, when temperatures rise into the mid-90's (low-30's C). This is also the dry season in the south, followed by the April-October monsoon season.

Unlike most other countries of a similar size, Vietnam extends across two climatic zones, with a moderate climate in the North, and a tropical climate in the South. The country measures more than 1,650km from North to South with a coastline about 2,000km long, covering an area of 329,560 square kilometres. Laos and Cambodia share its western borders, with China to the North, and the South China Sea to the East and South. There are five distinct geographic regions: the mountainous north with peaks above 3,000 metres; the Red River delta of Hanoi; the Annamite Mountain Range, which divides North and South; the narrow coastal strip between the Annamite Mountain Range and the South China Sea, and the Mekong delta in the South.