Moving to Arizona? Learn About Arizona Pet Laws
Pet friendly Arizona has some of the strictest regulations in the country when it comes to pets. Dog owners moving to Tucson and other cities like Phoenix and Scottsdale should be aware of the area pet laws in order to avoid fines.
For people new in town, here is some information from the Pima County Animal Care Center website:
It is required that all dogs over 3 months of age be licensed. You will need proof of current rabies vaccination before licensing your dog.
You need to provide:
- A Vaccination certificate signed by a licensed Veterinarian containing the following
- Vaccine manufacturers name
- Type of vaccine used (MLV or Killed)
- Serial or Lot Number
- Date vaccination was given
- Veterinarians name
- How long the vaccine is valid
Here is a look at the dog license fees, which vary based on several factors. Low cost licenses may be available -- download the application here.
What is the thinking behind Arizona's dog license law? Here's what the Pima County Animal Center has to say:
- Your dog is an important member of your family. No matter how safe you think your dog is, storms, fireworks or other disturbances may prompt your dog to dig, jump, or dart through a gate inadvertently left open. If your dog is lost, a license makes it far easier to reunite him with his family.
- The fee you pay for your license helps us do our job, whether that’s providing shelter for abandoned animals, protecting neighborhoods from stray or aggressive dogs, providing low-cost vaccinations or teaching school children about responsible pet ownership. In fact, licensing fees make up 66 percent of our operating revenues.
- It’s the law for any dog older than 3 months of age. And it doesn’t matter if your dog is a Chihuahua who spends most of his time indoors or a Bullmastiff who lives on a rural ranch. Late fees are nominal, but any person who knowingly fails to obtain a license for a dog may face a class 2 misdemeanor.
- Call it Disney’s Lady and the Tramp factor, but licensing your dog shows others that you care about your pet and about doing your part for the community.
- Because licensing requires a rabies vaccination, it helps ensure the community is protected from outbreaks.
- It’s easy, convenient and just $17 a year for an altered dog. You can register online, in person, by mail or even through some of our participating vet clinics at the time of rabies vaccination. Discounts are available for qualifying seniors, disabled constituents, low-income residents and for service dogs.
Note: Dogs can now be licensed online as long as you have a current rabies vaccine and current license.
Arizona also observes a leash law:
- Your dog must be kept in an enclosed yard when on your property
- Leaving a dog outside tied to a cable or rope is prohibited
- Your dog cannot be off your property unless restrained by a leash
Check with your vet in Arizona for further explanation or help with all things dog related and enjoy your time here!